DCAR announces 2022 primary election endorsements

Posted by & filed under All Posts.

State REALTOR® association endorses Mayor Muriel Bowser (D), four Democrats in June 21 Council primaries; no endorsements in two contests The District of Columbia Association of REALTORS® (DCAR) has endorsed Mayor Muriel Bowser (D) for re-election, as well as four candidates who are competing in primaries for the D.C. Council’s June 21 election. The selected… Read more »

DCAR testifies before D.C. Council committee on remote online notarization

Posted by & filed under Blog.

On March 7, DCAR testified before the D.C. Council’s Housing and Executive Administration, urging the Council to make remote online notarization (RON) permanent. The pandemic shined a spotlight on how crucial virtual services are to the real estate industry. DCAR explained how RON would remove barriers and provide D.C. residents with access to notarial services,… Read more »

D.C. Council passes housing bill, DCAR successful at watering down major provisions

Posted by & filed under All Posts, Blog.

This week, the D.C. Council passed an omnibus bill that makes permanent many of the landlord-tenant provisions contained in the public health emergency legislation. Despite the new law, DCAR was successful at working with councilmembers to roll back/modify several large items found in the bill dealing with application fees, basic business license requirements, credit reporting… Read more »

DCAR Public Policy Committee announces two new subcommittees

Posted by & filed under Blog.

DCAR’s Public Policy Committee has created two new subcommittee that will focus on policy areas critically important to DCAR members: affordable housing and the Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs (DCRA). The Affordable Housing subcommittee will perform in-depth analysis on issues related to affordable housing, homeownership and property rights. Members include: Hillary Nash, Chair Michael… Read more »

DCAR testifies before D.C. Council committee hearing on Real Estate Commission oversight

Posted by & filed under All Posts, Blog.

Today, DCAR CEO Scott Reiter testified before the D.C. Council’s Committee on Housing and Executive Administration, chaired by Councilmember Anita Bonds, on a variety of topics important to our DCAR members. Today’s meeting was part of Chair Bond’s annual oversight of the D.C. Real Estate Commission. DCAR asked the Commission to continue allowing virtual classes… Read more »

DCAR advocates for extension of foreclosure moratorium

Posted by & filed under All Posts, Blog.

The most recent foreclosure moratorium for owner-occupied homes expired on Jan. 5, 2022, and the District is in the process of receiving $50 million in federal aid to assist low- and moderate-income homeowners who are having trouble making payments due to the pandemic. However, the program to disburse these funds has not yet been finalized… Read more »

DCAR rolls back TOPA tolling extension

Posted by & filed under All Posts, Blog.

As part of the District’s Public Health Emergency (PHE) declaration, a toll, or pause, was put into effect for the Tenant Opportunity to Purchase Act (TOPA) for the duration of the PHE. As a result, pending sales of rental properties were slowed or halted due to the inability to have meetings. On Friday, Jan. 14,… Read more »

DCAR announces 2022 Public Policy Committee members

Posted by & filed under All Posts, Blog.

Congratulations to the following DCAR members who have been selected to serve on our 2022 Public Policy Committee!   Anthony Graham, Chair Michael Arias Terinee Bonds James Braeu Deirdre P. Brown Chuck Burger Elizabeth Burgess Carol Lynn Calomiris Thomas Castagnola Amy Fisher Virginia Gergoff Olivia Kibler Ellen Klein Larry McAdoo Hugh McDermott Hillary Nash Richard… Read more »

Introducing your 2022 DCAR Board of Directors

Posted by & filed under All Posts, Blog.

On Dec. 15, 2021, we installed our 2022 DCAR leadership team, with Thomas Daley as our 2022 president. Thank you to everyone who attended our Annual Meeting & Installation and helped make it a success! We are proud to present your 2022 leadership team: Executive Committee President: Thomas Daley President-elect: Anthony Mancuso Secretary: Stacey Barton… Read more »